Top quality exact replica watches with free shipping worldwide and world class customer service.

In a dark cathedral, a mage harnesses the power of demons to enhance her spells. In an alchemical laboratory, a diviner inscribes a scroll of destruction. Meanwhile, a bard and beastmaster seek out the prismatic dragon and golden lion to keep the forces of darkness at bay.

Welcome to Lux et Tenebrae (light and darkness), the first Res Arcana expansion.

Lux et Tenebrae expands Res Arcana to 5 players, adds a new artifact type - demons - and introduces scrolls: special one use powers that can be gained one round and saved for future rounds.

New mages, magic items, monuments, places of power, and artifacts further expand the game.


  • 2 Places of Power
  • 12 Artifact cards
  • 4 Mage cards
  • 2 Magic items
  • 8 Scrolls
  • 4 Monument cards
  • 25 Essences
  • Instructions


Combine the expansion components with the base game components. Res Arcana now supports 2-5 players, with the number of Places of Power and monuments varying with the number of players (see below). All magic items are always available.

Shuffle all the monuments together. Deal the number shown above to form the initial deck and return any unused monuments to the box (without examining them). Then draw 2 monuments and place them face up in the center.

Shuffle the Places of Power together, unseen below the table, and set out the number shown above, randomly choosing which side of each one to use. Return any unused places of power to the box.

Place the 8 scrolls out in the center. Perform the rest of setup normally.

Note: the 2-player game is now "tighter" and the 4-player game is now "looser" than with the base game rules. We strongly recommend using these rules for the best play experience.

Game Play

Play proceeds normally except as noted below:


Scrolls are claimed from the center using the magic item Inscription's power.

Once claimed, a scroll can be saved until its owner uses it (via the "use a power" action or, for Shield, its React power).

After using a scroll's power, return that scroll to the center (where it can be claimed again by Inscription).


The Revivify scroll and the Demonologist's first power allow a player to retrieve any 1 card from their discards, placing it in their hand. If a player has no discards, these powers produce no effect.

Game Elements


Bard: discarding an artifact with multiple types produces only 2, not 4, Gold (as the types listed are separated by "/", so only one type can be applied).


Infernal Engine: its first power can be used to effectively "hide" some essences from Life Loss (by removing them from your essence pool).

Its second power can be used to shift all essences from one of your components (e.g. it or the Windup Man or Vault) to your essence pool during the action step of a round.

Possessed Demon Slayer: when using its first power, it does not matter if the rival's Demons are turned or straightened; they all count.

Shadowy Figure: before using its first power, if your deck and discard pile together consist of a single card, then draw 1 and discard 0 cards.

Vial of Light: its React power applies whether or not the Vial is turned.

Magic Items

Illusion: both of this item's powers are React powers, allowing it to be used with one of your powers.

The Illusion item isn't a Creature or Demon itself, so it can't be straightened using the Druid's or Temple of the Abyss's powers.

Example: A player has claimed the Dragon Lair but has no Dragons in play.

She may turn the Dragon's Lair to use its last power, reacting to this with the Illusion item and spending two essences to turn it as a Dragon, thus paying the power's listed cost and gaining 2 Gold upon the Lair (for 2 VPs).

Example: If you are using the Sorcerer's Bestiary's Check Victory power and have the Illusion item, you could React and turn the Illusion item either as a Creature for +1 VP or, by spending 2 essences, as a Dragon for +2 VPs.

(You could not do this as a react to another player's Check Victory power or an end of round victory check, as you are not using a power at those times).


Projection: a player may spend any number of one essence at a rate of 3:1 (round down) for Gold (e.g. spend 15 Calm to gain 5 Gold).

Places of Power

The last powers of the Dragon Aerie and Temple of the Abyss do not involve turning those places of power, allowing them to potentially be used several times during a round.

Temple of the Abyss: its first power straightens all turned demons in play (yours and other players' demons).


Q: When a power's cost involves discarding an artifact from your hand, do you also gain 1 Gold or 2 other essences from it?

A: No (this gain occurs only when doing the discard action).

Q: When a power's cost involves turning a different artifact, do you also activate that artifact's power(s)?

A: No (you are doing the "use a power" action; turning a different artifact is simply part of paying the power's cost and has no other effects).

Q: Can you use a power that adds an essence to a component to put an essence on a turned component (such as using the Mermaid to add a Gold to the Cursed Forge when it is turned)?

A: Yes.

Q: Can powers that draw and put back cards be used on other players' decks?

A: No.

Q: Must essences used to pay for components and power costs come from your essence pool?

A: Yes (unless otherwise indicated, e.g. Athanor's Elan for its second power).

Q: On my turn, can I use a power that will produce no effect (to avoid having to pass)?

A: Yes, provided you fully pay the power's cost.

Q: Can powers that react to a victory check (i.e. Golden Statue or Dark Cathedral) react to either a check that occurs in the middle of the action step (such as one produced by Coral Castle) or one which occurs at the end of a round?

A: Yes.


This expansion's contents can be stored in the base game box by placing the 8 scrolls in the tray slot below the Places of Power and adding the Places of Power, magic items, and various cards to the appropriate storage areas.

Continue Reading