Alchemist (2)

This is the only progress card you can play before you roll the dice. It allows you to choose the results of both production dice. Then, roll the event die as normal and resolve the event.

When you play this card, take the red and yellow dice and turn them so the result you want is face up. You can even make the dice roll "7".

However, the event has to be resolved first. Then players receive their production as normal. You may not play this card after you roll the dice.



Crane (2)

You can build a city improvement (abbey, town hall, etc). for 1 commodity less than normal.

The Crane can only be used to reduce the cost of building one city improvement (turning over a page of your flip-chart). If you build a city, you must pay the normal resource costs.

You may use a Crane to reduce the cost of a first-level improvement (to nothing). You may not combine 2 Crane cards for the same improvement.



Engineer (1)

You may build one city wall for free.

Take a city wall and put it under one of your cities. A city wall increases the number of cards you can safely hold in your hand when a "7" is rolled, by 2 cards.

Each city can only have 1 city wall, and you cannot have more than 3 city walls at a time.



Inventor (2)

Switch two number tokens of your choice, but not 2, 12, 6, or 8.

You can improve your production! You may choose any two number tokens (except 2, 12 6 or 8) and switch their places on the board. You do not have to have a settlement or city next to the hexes with the numbers you are swapping.

If, for example, you choose a "9" and an "11", take the "9" token and put it on the hex where the "11" token is. Take the "11" token and put it on the hex where the "9" token was. You can choose to exchange a token that is on the hex occupied by the robber.



Irrigation (2)

Collect 2 grain cards for each fields hex adjacent to at least one of your settlements or cities.

You receive 2 grain cards for each fields hex next to any of your settlements and cities. Unlike normal production, cities do not increase this bonus.

Example: You have two cities next to a fields hex. You have a settlement next to a different field. If you play the Irrigation card, you will receive 4 grain cards.



Medicine (2)

You may upgrade a settlement to a city for 2 ore and 1 grain. When you play this card, you save 1 ore and 1 grain. You may not combine two of these cards for the same city.



Mining (2)

Collect 2 ore cards for each mountains hex adjacent to at least one of your settlements or cities.

You receive 2 ore cards for each mountains hex next to any of your settlements and cities.

Unlike normal production, cities do not increase this bonus.

Example: You have 2 settlements next to a mountains hex, and a city next to a different mountains hex. If you play the Mining card, you will receive 4 ore cards.



Printer (1)

This card awards you 1 victory point.

You must play this card face up in front of you immediately when you draw it, even if it is not your turn.

You may not keep VP cards in your hand. It does not count toward your hand limit of 4 progress cards, and it may not be stolen by the Spy.



Road Building (2)

This card allows you to build 2 roads for free.

The roads you build do not have to be adjacent to each other. These roads cost you nothing to build.

You must follow all the normal building rules. If you are also playing with the Seafarers expansion, you may build 2 roads, 1 road and 1 ship, or 2 ships when you play this card.



Smith (2)

You may promote 2 of your knights 1 level each for free.

You may not promote "mighty" knights. You may promote a knight regardless of whether he is active or inactive. The condition of the knight (active or inactive) does not change.

You may only promote a "strong" knight (level 2) if you have built the "Fortress" city improvement (politics-blue). You may only promote a knight one level per turn.


Next Page