Top quality exact replica watches with free shipping worldwide and world class customer service.

This section contains clarifications for rare or complex rules interactions. If players encounter a situation that was not addressed in the main rules, consult this section. Most players should not need to read this unless an issue arises.

Golden Rules

  • If a card contradicts the rules, the card takes precedence. If a card uses the term "cannot", that effect is absolute and cannot be overridden.

  • Counters, fires, and resource tokens are not limited to those provided in the game. If players need additional tokens, they can use coins or other suitable substitutes. All other tokens are limited to those included in the game.

  • If an effect makes a survivor lose stamina or discard tokens, but the survivor does not have enough to lose or discard, they lose or discard as much as possible.

  • Game situations will sometimes make card abilities have no effect. For example, if a threat card instructs a survivor to spawn a monster token at the nearest landmark and there are no landmarks in play, the card is resolved for no effect and is then discarded.


Combat Support Cards

  • Abilities that refer to the number "showing" on a die refer only to the number physically printed on the die, ignoring modifiers. Abilities that refer to the "final result" of a die refer to the result after all modifiers are applied.

  • If an ability is modifying a die (for example, adding +2 to it), and the die is rerolled, the modifier is also applied to the new result showing on the die.

  • If a survivor escapes from combat and another survivor is in the space with the enemy's token, the enemy immediately starts a combat against a survivor in its space.

  • If an ability can be used "once per combat", it can be used multiple times if multiple combats occur. For example, if fighting a lethal enemy, the survivor could fight multiple combats against it and can use each "once per combat" ability during each of these combats.

  • Only the survivor(s) that rolled dice can use items and character abilities in combat. Supporters cannot use these abilities unless specified on the card.

  • If there are no legal spaces for an enemy token to retreat to (for example, because survivors are in each adjacent space), the token is placed in the nearest space that does not contain a survivor.

  • Some enemies (such as the Gazelle) retreat two spaces instead of one. If this enemy can only move one space in the specified direction because it would otherwise move off the map, it moves one space in that direction.

  • If a survivor defeats an enemy and becomes eliminated in the same combat, the survivor receives the enemy's reward before being eliminated.

  • Cards that are used "Before rolling in combat" are used immediately after supporters choose to use support cards.

  • If a survivor uses an ability to deal damage to an enemy outside of a combat, this could defeat it immediately. The survivor claims the enemy's reward even if not in the enemy's space.

  • If multiple survivors are within two spaces of a combat, they choose which combat support cards they wish to play (if any), starting with the player on the left of the combatant and proceeding clockwise

Movement and Distance

  • Some abilities move survivors. The following rules apply to these abilities:

    • The terrain type(s) are ignored and do not cost additional stamina.
    • The survivor must stop moving if they enter a space that contains a monster token. They must immediately resolve a combat against the monster and then their action ends.
    • The survivor cannot interrupt this movement to perform a different action. For example, they cannot perform gather actions to pick up resources along the way.
    • Unlike the move and gather action, these abilities do not allow the survivor to then perform a gather action without spending stamina.

    If an ability moves a survivor or token directly to a specific space (for example, "Move to landmark #1"), the survivor's figure is picked up and placed directly in this space without moving through the spaces in between.

  • When a rule or ability refers to a component a certain distance away from a survivor (for example "within 2 spaces"), anything in the survivor's space is within zero spaces and anything adjacent is within one space.

Exploration Cards and Investigate Action

Exploration Cards

  • If an instant exploration card allows the survivor to resolve a different exploration card, the survivor does not need to perform an additional action to do so.

  • A survivor may investigate the same landmark multiple times during a turn, spending stamina for each action as normal.

  • If an exploration card from a numbered feature token instructs the survivor to leave the token in their space, the token is left faceup. If the card does not specify, the numbered feature token is discarded

Resources and Carry Limit

Resource Tokens

  • Project cards, ongoing threat cards, and combat support cards do not count toward a survivor's carry limit.

  • Survivors can only drop resources (place them in their space) when they exceed their carry limit.

  • Some items have the Quest Item trait. These items are crucial to completing some quests, and cannot be discarded, even if the survivor is exceeding their carry limit. These items still count toward the carry limit.

  • A survivor can choose to gather a resource or trade items even if this would make them exceed their carry limit. At the end of the action, they must drop resources or discard items until they are no longer exceeding their limit.

  • A token that has two resource icons on it only counts as one token for a survivor's carry limit. The survivor can exchange this token for two single resource tokens from the supply at any time. After the token is converted, both tokens count toward the survivor's carry limit and they cannot be combined back into a single token.

  • A survivor can gather one resource token with each gather action. If they wish to gather multiple resources from their space, they need to perform multiple gather actions.

  • A survivor can only spend their own resources.

  • Survivors can freely move their resources onto and off of their items that can "carry resources" at any time. If a survivor trades an item that has resources on it, the resources are also traded.


  • If there are no monster tokens remaining in the supply, all unused monster tokens are flipped facedown and randomized to create a new supply.

    Monster Tokens

  • If an effect "removes" a card or token from the game, return that component to the game box. It will not be used for the remainder of the game.

  • Some abilities specify that they can only be used "once per day". If one survivor uses that card, it cannot be used by any other survivor until the next day phase.

    • This applies even if the item is traded to another survivor.

    • If more than one copy of that card exists, each copy of that card can be used once per day.

    • These cards can be used during the night phase as long as they were not used during the day that preceded it. If used during the night, the ability can be used again as early as the start of the next day.

  • When performing a trade action, survivors do not need to exchange the same number of items. For example, one survivor could decide to give three food to another survivor in his or her space, and as long as the other survivor agrees, this is a legal trade.

  • A fire token can be in any space, regardless of the terrain, landmarks, or water sources in the space. Thematically, the survivor has built the fire on the shore or on a rock above the water.

  • If an ability heals damage, the damage must be healed from the survivor who is using the ability unless specified otherwise.

  • If an ability heals damage but does not specify which type of damage, the survivor being healed can choose the type.

  • Abilities on a casualty's item and character cards cannot be resolved.

  • Some item cards instruct survivors to place counters on them "when crafted" or "when found". These tokens are placed on the card when the card is gained from a deck. If the item is traded to another survivor, any remaining counters stay on the card, but no additional counters are added.

    In order to place more counters on a crafted item card, the survivor can craft the item again (by spending an action and the required resources).

    Crafted Item Cards

  • When a survivor wins the game, any project cards in their hand are removed from the game.

Continue Reading