Most buildings have only one action associated with them: receive 1 or 2 items (commodities, special tiles or Ownership markers).
If the good is not available in sufficient quantities, the player gets whatever is left (this can be nothing). No matter the quantity received, the action is considered as taken.
Draw the first card from the Large order card pile and add it to your hand.
Draw the first two cards from the Small order pile and add them to your hand.
Draw the first two cards from the Message pile and add them to your hand.
Take two Ownership markers of your color and put them in front of you.
Palace, Park, Coach House, Harbor, Tavern and Inn
Take one of the corresponding special tile and put it face up in front of you.
Warehouses (drinks, Metals, Fabric, Spices)
Take one tile of each kind of the appropriate commodities and place them face up in front of you.
Note: You must take one tile of each kind of commodity, never two of the same commodity.
Villas (colini, Monetti, Ricci, Zasteri)
Unlike the other buildings, the Villas allow you to take one of these two actions:
Take the first Contract card from the pile and add it to your hand. OR
Deliver a Large order to this Villa.
No actions are possible on street spaces. However, street spaces allow a player to acquire building(s) during phase 3: Acquire buildings.
No actions are possible in the Market. However if the Market is the tower's starting space, the round marker is moved down one space.
There is no limit to the number of cards a player may have in his hand. Once played, cards are put face up under their respective pile. Later in the game, if a card appears face up on top of a pile, shuffle this pile to form a new one. These rules apply to all four card piles.
The owner of a Large order card receives 100 ducats from the bank and 1 special tile of his choice once he completes it.
To complete a Large order, a player must take the Deliver a Large order action in the appropriate Villa and put the three requested Commodity tiles back in the supply. The card is then put face up under the corresponding pile.
The owner of a Small order receives 40 ducats (from the bank) when he completes it.
To complete a small order, a player must perform the action of the building indicated on his card and put the appropriate commodity back in the supply. The Small order card is placed face up under the corresponding pile.
Note: Unlike large orders, a player does not have to use his action to complete a Small order. He must, however, take the action of the building listed on the Small order card to complete it.
Players can never deliver two orders (large or small) at the same time, even if they are going to the same building.
When the owner of a Message card delivers it, he receives 30 ducats from the bank. To deliver the message, the tower must have visited both buildings indicated on the Message card during the same turn.
Unlike the orders, the owner of the card does not have to take any action in either buildings. The message is delivered as soon as there is one of the tower's discs on both buildings in the same turn. The Message card is placed face up under the corresponding pile.
Note: The buildings can be visited in any order. A player may deliver any number of messages during the same turn, even if they involve the same buildings.
Each Contract card designates one of the buildings illustrated on the board. Players earn ducats for their Contract cards at the end of the game.
The more Contract cards representing adjacent buildings they have, the more ducats they receive. For instance, an isolated building will only net 10 ducats whereas four adjacent buildings will earn a player 100 ducats.
Each adjacent building beyond the fourth one increases the amount received by 50 ducats (i.e. 5 adjacent buildings = 150 ducats, 6 adjacent buildings = 200 ducats, etc)..
A player may own any number of special tiles. He can also use as many tiles as he wants, in the order he wants, during a single turn. Once used, the tile is put back on the appropriate pile.
You can only use this tile during your turn. Instead of rolling the dice, simply put the tower on the space of your choice.
Note: If the player chooses the Market space with this tile, the round marker is moved down one space.
You can use this tile during another player's turn or your own. This tile gives you an extra action. It is possible to use more than one Extra action tile in the same turn. Extra action tiles can also be used the same turn they are obtained.
Notes : This tile does not allow a player to use the action of a building where the action has already been taken.
Commodity of your choice
You can use this tile to obtain a commodity of your choice. You can only play this tile at the beginning, during or at the end of one of your action, even the one where you obtained this tile.
This tile cannot be used at any other time. As soon as you announce that your action is over, you cannot play this tile.
This tile allows you to trade one good you own (card, Ownership marker, Commodity or special tile), for any one good of your choice. The timing of playing this tile is the same as the Commodity of your choice tile.
When you use this tile, you may immediately perform the action of a building you own. The timing of playing this tile is the same as the Commodity of your chosen tile.
When you play this tile, you do not use the action of your turn, you simply use the tile.
You will therefore be able to take the action of a building where the tower is and the one of a building where you have an Ownership marker. You are still considered to have taken only one action.
It is not necessary for the tower to have moved onto the building where you have an Ownership marker when you use the tile.
This tile cannot be used to complete a small order, even if it is going to the same building.
It is possible to use multiple copies of this tile in the same turn; as such, you could do the action of one building multiple times.