This version is played according to exactly the same rules as the basic version, but with the addition of GIPF-pieces. A GIPF-piece consists of 2 basic pieces stacked one on top of another.

GIPF means "potential". On the one hand, just as in the basic game, a player must comply with the rule to bring a piece into play each turn.

On the other hand, he must also take care that his potential (i.e. his GIPF) stays in play. So, a player must always have at least one GIPF-piece on the board.

Remark:

A GIPF-piece consists of 2 basic pieces, but on the board it counts as only 1 piece.


Begin



Both players take 18 basic pieces. The start position remains the same but now they start with 3 GIPF-pieces on the board each. (See illustration 1: GIPF-pieces instead of basic pieces).


GIPF

  1. The difference between a basic piece and a GIPF- piece is that it is not obligatory to capture a GIPF- piece (neither your own, nor your opponent's).

    In other words: when a GIPF-piece (regardless of its color) is part of a row that must be taken from the board, then a player is free to choose between taking it and leaving it on its spot.

    In most cases the choice will amount to taking a GIPF-piece only when it belongs to the opponent. But be careful: situations will certainly occur in which it may be better to deviate from this strategy.



    (See illustration 8: White takes 3 white basic pieces and 1 black basic piece; most likely White will also take the black GIPF-piece, but leave the 2 white GIPF-pieces on the board).

  2. When two rows of at least 4 pieces of the same color intersect each other and the spot of intersection is occupied by a GIPF-piece, then the player may choose whether he will take one or two rows from the board.

    Either he captures only one row, including the GIPF-piece on the intersection spot (which means there is no second row to be taken any more), or he takes one row and leaves the GIPF-piece on its spot, thus having to capture the second row as well (with or without the GIPF- piece).



    (See again illustration 6: as it is, Black has to remove only one row. In case the intersection spot would be occupied by a GIPF-piece, Black would first have to take one row, with or without the GIPF-piece; if he decides not to take the GIPF-piece, he has to take the second row as well-again with or without the GIPF-piece).

Remark:

When a player captures a GIPF-piece of his own color, it must be returned to the reserve as two separate basic pieces. They may not be brought into play again as a GIPF-piece.


End of the Game

Now there are two ways of winning: a player must succeed in removing the opponent's GIPF from the board (i.e. all of his GIPF-pieces) or he must exhaust the opponent's reserve.

In other words: the one who has either lost his last GIPF-piece, or has no basic piece left to bring into play, loses the game.


Next Page

Support Us
If you like our board game related content, consider to donate with Paypal and help us continue.
Donate with Paypal